PDA

View Full Version : CFL Longevity

tim walker
02-08-2010, 12:32 AM
CFL manufactures say there is a long term life expectancy for CFL's. I however are not seeing that. I have had an outdoor CFL running 24/7 for about 6 months and it has burned out. That is about 4300 hours. Promise is of 10000 hrs. Anyone else seeing shorter life? How do you get a refund for these early burnouts. I really don't keep receipts for light bulbs and how would you prove it is THAT light that burned out and not an older light.

tyler mckee
02-08-2010, 12:39 AM
I've been using only CFL bulbs for about 4 years now and only had to replace a couple. never thought about trying to return them, figure one or two burning out early isn't too bad.

David G Baker
02-08-2010, 1:04 AM
I had one that burned out after a few months. I had several on hand from the same manufacturer and found the contact information on the bulb container. I gave them a call and they sent me a replacement. The batch number on the bulb container gives the necessary information ( date of manufacture and I believe the retailers info).
A local grain and feed store uses CFL bulbs in their feed storage warehouse and their experience with the bulbs in cold weather is that they do not last for them. I talked to the sales rep for the bulb that I had replaced and he said that his bulbs are rated for below zero weather. I don't know the brand that the grain folks use.

Tom Veatch
02-08-2010, 2:55 AM
I have a couple of CFL floods on the outside of my workshop on a photocell so they are on all night, every night. When using Tungsten floods, seems like they were burning out at least once a month or so. These two have been in place for somewhere around 4 years now and are still going strong. They've been there so long, I really don't remember when I installed them. Don't know exactly how many hours but 12*365*4 = 17,000+ is a reasonable estimate.

I'll be satisfied with their performance if I walk out tomorrow and they are both dead.