PDA

View Full Version : Recomend me some chisels.

Robert gree
02-07-2010, 2:05 AM
Im just getting into working with actuall "lumber" beyond dimensional and plywood/MDF sheet goods. And have been slowly collecting hand planes for years, I need a decent set of starter chisels. and a mortising chissel.

Budget sadly is about 100 bucks. If a fellow creeker has some forsale used thats fine to

Jim Koepke
02-07-2010, 2:36 AM
Robert,

Welcome to the Creek and the Neander side of the plank.

What size mortising chisel do you need? The common wisdom on this is to mortise about 1/3 to 1/2 the wood's thickness. In other words, a 3/4 inch rail would have a 1/4 to 3/8 inch mortise and tenon.

Also, what kind of work will you be doing? Hand cutting and paring dovetails is one thing. Hand cutting stopped dados is something completely different.

Do you have sharpening equipment and the time to fix up used chisels, or do you want to start with better chisels? Do you have a bench grinder or other powered way to remove metal?

Do you have a lathe to make new handles if needed? That can definitely help in the acquisition of low cost used chisels.

Many often suggest a good idea to plan the project and buy the tools needed for the project. If you prefer to start with quality, it may be less immediate strain on the wallet to acquire one or two at a time as they are needed.

If you want to do a bunch of dovetail drawers for a cabinet, then I would suggest starting with a 1/4 inch and maybe a couple of skew chisels of about the same size. Dovetails can be cut without skew chisels, but they do make it a bit easier, especially if you want to make half blind dovetails.

If your first plan is to build a Roubo bench with a rising dovetail or intend to cut half laps in 2X4s, then you may want a larger chisel or two.

One last thought, it is easier to work a 1/2 inch area with a 1/4 inch chisel than the other way around.

jim

David Gendron
02-07-2010, 2:51 AM