PDA

View Full Version : need help picking out a chuck

cody michael
02-06-2010, 2:04 PM
i'm buying a chuck. LOWER PRICED ONE. LIKE TO KEEP UNDER 100$ or about there.

i was looking at woodcraft 89$ one. PSI have the same one with free extra jaws but not avialable till late march.

any other ideas? someone said a 99$ grizzly one but i can't find it? there is also a cheap grizzly one at like 50$ is that one decent or junk?

or does anyone ahve a nice used one for sale for around that price thanks cody

JerHall
02-06-2010, 2:18 PM
Good chuck. Takes all the Vicmarc jaws for the VM100 which is a big plus
http://grizzly.com/products/4-Jaw-Chuck-1-1-2-X-8-TPI/H7820

Bob Haverstock
02-06-2010, 2:33 PM
Cody,

I've had some experience with the Grizzly chucks. The $99 chuck is worth the money. I've had 2 of the $50 chucks, they didn't run true enough to suit me. They had maybe .030" runout. I wouldnot trade one of the ninety-nine dollar chucks for 10 of the cheap ones.

Bob

Antonio Martinez
02-06-2010, 3:10 PM
I really like the PSI chuck. With what comes with it you really make out. For me, it's worth the wait.

Scott Lux
02-06-2010, 4:28 PM
I have the PSI economy as well, didn't come with the jumbo flat jaws when I bought it, but it was less money then too.

I really like it. I've used it to hold a 3/8" bolt (head cut off) for a wine-stopper chuck. Works a treat.

Lux

Michael Mills
02-06-2010, 5:13 PM
I have one of the Woodcraft and it is OK. The jaws will fall out if you open it too far. The tommy bars never bothered me. Around $110 when you add shipping and taxes?
I also have a Nova and there is no comparison in quality. I just purchased a Nova G3 on ebay for $125 (insert, shipping, taxes, included). The seller may still have them listed, just search Nova G3. For $15 more I don’t think you can go wrong.
However, additional jaws for the Nova are more expensive.
The other brands I have no experience with.
Mike

Mike Peace
02-06-2010, 5:27 PM
+1 on the G3.

cody michael