PDA

View Full Version : why I chose Grizzly over PM or FP( jointer )

Garrett Brumit
02-06-2010, 12:02 PM
Newbie here ,
I found this site while researching on reviews while shopping for a jointer.
1st off I want to thank the people who runs this forum, top notch which while I was a lurker I learned alot....
Ok, I found myself scrolling on Craigs List, which by the way, can be good and bad experience..
I found 2 fella's selling acouple of jointers, one type was the Fox Pro 8 inch, he said he was quiting woodshop work to go spend more time with his family, he was asking $1000 for the jointer, I researched the FP extensively cause I had to be sure I could convince my wife it was a great deal. After dodging afew mouthy words from my wife I called the guy and got him down to $875, he wouldn't budge below that. I was set, and ready to pick up, then I found a fella selling 2 jointers, a Powermatic 54A 6inch and a Grizzly G0490 8inch, he wanted $850 for the PM but I got him down to $650, the Grizzly he wanted $750 and wouldn't budge below..
So I decided what the heck it wouldn't hurt to go look right?
I scheduled a pick up ( after renting a 5x8 enclosed uhaul trailer and not too mention driving 120 miles from my house )from a guy on CL for a 5 year old delta lathe Model # 46-701 he got for fathers day where all he did was turn it on then pushed it back in his shop to never try it out. Let me tell ya, this lathe even had the price tag on it, lathe with floor stand $400, yup, had to get it. So while going to pick it up I decided to plan a trip to see the 2 jointers. Grizzly & PM..