PDA

View Full Version : I knew I wasn't crazy - Corel text center isn't accurate.. How do I fix?

Adam Craig
02-05-2010, 10:51 PM
Hello, I'm an illustrator guy coming in to corel and am having a tricky time.
I have been trying to center some text on an aluminum plate and it always seems to be about an 1/8" off. I checked everything and finally discovered that corel caluclates the center of text with a seeming space at the beginning of the text. I verified this two ways. First I typed in some uniform text, maked the edge of one side with a piece of tape on my monitor and them rotated it. It was Off by about 1/8th of an inch!! Then i simply typed "M"s in corel (being uniform) and the bounding box points (the 4 small squares) really made the flaw obvious. Attached. Does anyone know how to fix this issue? I need my text to be dead center on my plate.

John Noell
02-05-2010, 11:01 PM
It's worse than that. If you first type some text (say your Ms), the put dots on the screen at each end and the middle (where Corel's bounding points are), then rotate the text 180 degrees, the end dots and centre dot can move a bit from side to side. HOWEVER, you can later do the same test and have the ends flip evenly and the centre stay in the centre. Yay Corel X4!

laura passek
02-06-2010, 2:16 AM
Adam
Are you using your laser table size for your page size.
I had this same problem and I contacted Epilog thinking it was an alignment issue, they had me run a test and it came back negative, the alignment was dead on.
The Tech suggested I try using my plate size instead of table size and I haven't had any more issues except for operator errors.
Worth a try.

Kim Vellore
02-06-2010, 2:43 AM
Adam,
If you convert your text to curves it fixes that but you loose your text editing feature.
Kim

Mike Null
02-06-2010, 11:28 AM
I don't have any problem centering text and I've been using Corel for twelve years.

I'd look at what you're trying to center it on.