PDA

View Full Version : calling all pen turners

Don Meyer
02-03-2010, 7:46 PM
An acquaintance of mine dropped by my house today and gave me a small set of moose antlers. I have been turning pens for a couple of months now and have been using Hut friction polish and have recently been experimenting with CA as my finishing technique. I am wondering what other turners are using for finishing antler.I am open to any and all suggestions. Thanks in advance.

Donny Lawson
02-03-2010, 7:49 PM
I use Ca and BLO on my pens but I haven't tried it on antlers yet.The BLO/CA leaves a glass like finish and is very durable.
Donny

David E Keller
02-03-2010, 7:53 PM
I've use a straight CA finish... multiple coats then MM and buff.

David E Keller
02-03-2010, 8:31 PM
The CA finish is a good one for antler.

Bob Vavricka
02-03-2010, 8:38 PM
Don,
If I can get a piece of antler where I don't have to turn too deep and the outside is smooth, I just sand it and then buff it with tripoli and white diamond. It tends to buff up pretty nice. However, if I have to turn it down more and surface isn't smooth, I use CA.
Bob V.

Scott Hackler
02-03-2010, 8:50 PM
and be prepared for a terrible stink. Smells like burning hair when cutting and sanding.

Gordon Thompson
02-03-2010, 8:52 PM
on antlers, i do no finish. micromesh to 12,000, and thats it.

Gordon Thompson
02-03-2010, 8:54 PM
and be prepared for a terrible stink. Smells like burning hair when cutting and sanding.

LOL....sure does....peeeeeeyu!!

Paul Douglass
02-03-2010, 9:56 PM
I've always used CA. And after you turn a few you won't mind the smell anymore.

John Terefenko
02-03-2010, 10:02 PM
If the antler is solid I just sand and polish. They shine up real well. If punky then I use CA. If solid and has ridges I leave it alone and polish.

Steve Mawson
02-03-2010, 10:09 PM
I have used wood turners finish but believe Gordon might have the best method. Antlers will shine if they are MM then polished.

Jon Lanier
02-04-2010, 1:37 AM