PDA

View Full Version : Tung Oil

Brad Reiter
02-02-2010, 12:19 PM
How well does Tung Oil hold up to light foot traffic? I would like to use this on my stair treads but was wondering about its durability.

Thanks,
Brad

Joe Von Kaenel
02-02-2010, 12:25 PM
Brad,

I'm no expert, but tung oil does not hold up as well as poly urethane for furniture. It was recommeded that I use a Floor grade Poly urethane for the stairs. I don't thing Tung oil would last very long. Hope this helps.

Joe

Maurice Ungaro
02-02-2010, 1:15 PM
Tung oil does fairly well, but be advised that you SHOULD wax a tung oil finish. I spec'd that on a Victorian cottage that we lived in outside of Atlanta. When I asked my floor guy how durable the poly was that he was going to use was, he stated that "nothing would get through it". I told him I did not want that. Basically, you are encasing the wood in plastic. Plus, when you have to (and you will) repair a portion of the floor's finish because somebody scuffed it with grit on their heels, or Fido's claws really didn't care how hard the poly was, you will curse having to sand all of it off. You can't spot finish with poly. Tung oil is a different story.

The downside? I buffed the floors about every 3 months (Oreck makes a kickin' buffer - love that thing). The result? The place looked like a house museum, and the rich shine off of the wood floors made it worthwhile.

You can also use Waterlox, which is tung oil with some blended phenolic resins. That way, you don't need to wax.

Howard Acheson
02-02-2010, 1:27 PM
What do you mean by "Tung Oil". Are you referring to real, true tung oil or are you referring to one of the faux "tung oil finishes"?

However, neither would be considered a good finish for a floor. Neither has any abrasion resistance and both water and water vapor will pass right through it. To maintain its appearance, treatment will be required quite frequently.