PDA

View Full Version : Purpleheart Dilema Need Help!

Joe Leigh
01-30-2010, 8:43 AM
This is my first attempt at using Purpleheart as a primary wood in a project. The plan for this box is to use BLO and shellac. I applied the BLO same as I've done a hundred times before. However in this case the oil seems blotchy and uneven

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/lj61673/DSCN1682.jpg

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q226/lj61673/DSCN1683.jpg

The piece was wiped of excess oil an hour after it was applied and has been in a 70deg room for almost a week. It is dry to the touch but still appears as though it hasn't yet dried. What do you guys think?
Should I sand it out until it's even and apply shellac? Should I apply another coat of BLO and hope it evens out?? Anyone have experience with Purpleheart and BLO??

SOS.....

Dale Coons
01-30-2010, 9:13 AM
Can' help you with the BLO qustion, but I have had good results finishing purple heart with several coats of wipe-on poly. might not be the look you're going for, but it has worked well for me.

Brian Kent
01-30-2010, 1:36 PM
There is a lot of grain direction shift in Purpleheart. I think you found some. I don't know how to cancel it out, so I think you have a natural artistic feature rather than a problem.

Casey Gooding
01-30-2010, 3:00 PM
Not sure how to help you out. Maybe a good wipedown with mineral spirits. Personally, I think purpleheart suffers from oil finishes. It seems to dull the beautiful grain of purpleheart. Perhaps a clear film finish like Sealcoat would be a better option. You can thin it quite a bit so it doesn't build a thick film.

Steve Vaughan
01-31-2010, 9:38 AM
I'm thinking that the oils/resins in the purpleheart are causing the problem and not compatible with the BLO? Similar to other exotics where the natural oils might not be compatible with certain finishes. Some require the wipe-down with mineral spirits before glue-up.