PDA

View Full Version : Which size to get first,,3/8 or 1/2 spindle gouge

Jack Gaskins
01-29-2010, 4:35 PM
? Which size should I order first from Doug Thompson. He has regular spindle gouges and then he has DEEP FLUTE spindle gouges. I have a 1/4" spindle gouge that came with a HF set but I want a bigger one and since I am really new to turning I dont have the experience to decide on my own so, which size spindle gouge is good for what types/sizes of spindle turning and what is the difference between a regular depth and a "deep fluted" spindle gouge? Tried finding some info on the internet but couldnt really come up with any thing.

Jim Slovik
01-29-2010, 5:03 PM
Nobody knows Doug Thompson tools as well as Doug Thompson does. Give him a call and he'll answer all of your questions in a friendly and professional manner. If you tell him what you are trying to accomplish, he'll tell you the tool that's right for the job. He has a wealth of information and he's always happy to share it. I just recieved my last order from Doug today. I felt like a kid on Christmas day when I opened the mailbox. Regardless of which one you decide to purchase, I'm sure you'll love it.

Steve Mawson
01-29-2010, 5:25 PM
What Jim said. Doug is a great guy to talk with. He for sure will not try to sell you something you do not need.

Jack Gaskins
01-29-2010, 6:14 PM
Nobody knows Doug Thompson tools as well as Doug Thompson does. Give him a call and he'll answer all of your questions in a friendly and professional manner. If you tell him what you are trying to accomplish, he'll tell you the tool that's right for the job. He has a wealth of information and he's always happy to share it. I just recieved my last order from Doug today. I felt like a kid on Christmas day when I opened the mailbox. Regardless of which one you decide to purchase, I'm sure you'll love it.