PDA

View Full Version : Basic Equipment for Building Face Frames

George Richard
01-26-2010, 5:07 PM
Hi Guys,
I'm doing some home improvement projects and I have to make some "face frames". I don't do this professionally so time isn't a huge factor. Unfortunately space IS a major factor for right now.

Anyway, I'm just starting out and I'm limited on tools. My "table saw" is an old Makita portable 8-1/4" (model 2708) and I'm not even sure if it will hold up for cutting 3/4" red oak. I have a decent portable thickness planer (Makita), a Festool plunge saw / guide rail, a Dewalt Mitre saw and a Bosch Router but so far the obvious things I'm missing would be a jointer and a good table saw. I need to rip the stiles and rails and prep the edges for joining (I'm using the Kreg pocket hole method).

My miter saw will easily cut them to length but I'm worried about ripping with the Makita and the fact that I don't have a jointer. If I had more room (and money) I would splurge on a good table saw and a jointer but for now my options are to use the Festool to rip if the Makita fails. I can try 'jointing' the edges on a router table or purchase a small jointer. Unfortunately I have no room for a decent floor model and I've heard the benchtop models are very limited.

What do you guys recommend? Maybe setup a jig for my Festool and try the router table for the final edge prep if the saw does a crappy job???

Thanks! (Sorry for the long post)...

Tony Shea
01-26-2010, 5:19 PM