PDA

View Full Version : Scrub Plane iron, cap, and screw

robert dankert
01-26-2010, 12:06 PM
Hi,
I have a plane with one marking on it: "K 240". I believe this is a Keen Kutter version of the stanley #40 scrub plane (made by Stanley?). My plane is missing the iron, cap, and screw. Does anyone know where I might get replacement parts for my plane? Would the Stanley #40 parts fit in my plane? These are available. They don't have to be Keen Kutter - I just want a user.

Also, I have spent some time searching the internet (including ebay) looking for info on the K 240. I have found KK 240. Does anyone know why there are K and KK's?

thanks for looking, Bob

David Gendron
01-26-2010, 12:16 PM
The only thing I know is that the "K" are earlier than the "KK". So the "K" are more praised !

robert dankert
01-26-2010, 12:27 PM
David, thanks, I thought that was the case. I'm very new to hand tools so my knowledge is pretty slim.

Charles R. Smith
01-26-2010, 2:04 PM
Ron Hock makes a replacement blade for the Stanley #40. You might check with him (www.hocktools.com). Most replacement blades for a scrub plane are for the #40 1/2, which I think is 1/4 inch wider than the #40.
Charles

robert dankert
01-26-2010, 2:16 PM
Charles, thanks for replying Ron Hock lists blades for the #40. Bob

Sam Takeuchi
01-26-2010, 2:24 PM
Just the heads up on Keen Kutter planes. For bench planes, the difference between K and KK line of planes was that K series had bedrock design (early type 5 and earlier of Stanley bedrock) and KK series had standard Bailey line. K line was basically their premium line of planes. I don't know how that fit with scrub plane where design can't be much different regardless of design, though.

robert dankert
01-26-2010, 3:57 PM
Sam, thanks very interesting

James Taglienti
01-27-2010, 6:46 PM