PDA

View Full Version : Walnut bowl

Kevin J Lalonde
01-26-2010, 9:55 AM
Finished this bowl Friday. 10"x4" 1/4 thick finished with waterlox. I like the shape of it, what do you guys think? Would have looked better with a bit of a rolled lip? I used my new photo(sofa)tent!!

Steve Schlumpf
01-26-2010, 10:00 AM
Kevin - looks pretty good to me! Pretty wood!

Bernie Weishapl
01-26-2010, 11:03 AM
Pretty nice bowl Kevin. I do like the finish and simple form.

Bill Bolen
01-26-2010, 11:16 AM
Nice wood and a very goood form. Lip treatment fits the bowl well. All kinds of things can be done to the lip to change the style but I find the simpler the better for most bowls. Also the foot adds a lot to the over all feel of the piece. Some like a more pronounced foot, some like flat with no foot apparant and some prefer a beaded foot. All are personal taste. You did a very nice job here...Bill...

Sean Hughto
01-26-2010, 11:23 AM
I'm just a relative beginner, but I find myself drawn more and more to simple forms like this. I made an apple bowl over the weekend - around 9 x 3" - sort of reminiscent of your wonderful walnut bowl in terms of concentrating on the curves and leaving a fairly plain rim.

I do find bowls frustrating to photograph though. In order to get a good dof to get both sides in relative focus, I lose resolution as the f stop gets too high. I suppose that's were a light tent helps!

Baxter Smith
01-26-2010, 1:12 PM
Nice wood and a very goood form. Lip treatment fits the bowl well. All kinds of things can be done to the lip to change the style but I find the simpler the better for most bowls.
Very pretty bowl and wood! I like a lot of the different rim and bottom styles that people show here but when I am at the lathe my brain/memory seems to freeze. A simple bottom or rim looks good and I'm afraid adding stuff might detract from that.

Allen Neighbors
01-26-2010, 7:54 PM