PDA

View Full Version : 36-L352 Unisaw

John Pratt
01-25-2010, 1:16 PM
I have been using my new unisaw daily for a couple of months now and I ran into a problem that I cant figure out (called Delta but no answer yet). Does the motor have an automatic cutoff or heat switch? While cutting a 3/4" dado 1/4" deep (Freud SD508) in a 12' piece of red oak, the motor just stopped. It did not trip the breaker at the panel but the machine did not respond to the on/off switch. After scratching my head for about a minute the machine began working again. It did the same thing on the next piece of the same size. After another minute, it began working again and has worked fine on every cut since. The motor did not sound as if it was under stress at the time and the blades were spinning at full RPM when the shut down happened. Other than this dilemma, I have been extremely happy with this saw and how it performs (with the possible exception of average dust collection). I stumped with this problem, any ideas?

mark kosse
01-25-2010, 2:27 PM
I don't have much new equipment but to my knowledge a thermal overload has to be manually reset, much like a tripped breaker. It sounds like it may be an internal short, but that would be a guess.

Jim Dunn
01-25-2010, 3:11 PM
Thermal overloads can automaticly reset as soon as they cool down enough.

Josiah Bartlett
01-25-2010, 3:17 PM
Does this saw have a magnetic switch? Those have been known to go bad or stop under certain vibration conditions.

John Pratt
01-25-2010, 3:38 PM
Thermal overload switch sounds plausible. It does reset itself in short order and then the saw seems to work fine again. I just didn't think a 3/4" X 1/4" dado in Red oak would be enough to trip it. Of course the board is 12' long so that is a considerable amount of time under load. Maybe I should have splurged for the 5hp.

mickey cassiba
01-25-2010, 3:47 PM