PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with some Table saw questions.

Louie Ballis
01-22-2010, 1:01 PM
Hi all, I am new to this forum and it seems that there is a lot of good information out there.

I am a hobbyist wood worker for the past 3 years and absolutely love it. I have a detached one car garage 12x20 that serves as my dedicated workshop. I generally have placed all of my tools on rollers, and wheel them into the driveway to use them. As a result during bad weather I either cant work, or must work in a very cluttered space.
After alot of planing and thought I have decided to do away with the clutter and organize everything so that it can be used inthe shop for the most part. I have found some plans to go by and hope that I can make it work.

The center of the shop against the right wall facing the door is going to be the tablesaw which finally brings me to my question. I want to upgrade to a hybrid saw (for the dust collection and power-something better than the contractor type saw that I am using). I plan on building a 5x5 table that will serve as both an out-feed table and work bench.

I have read alot of negative reviews on the Delta 36-750 which is their version of the hybrid with a 50 inch biesmyer fence. Since Delta makes the very well respected Unisaw is this negativity warrented?

Any other possible suggestions as to the saw?

thanks for any and all help,

Louie

Myk Rian
01-22-2010, 1:04 PM
I have a Steel City w/30" fence. Works well in my half of a 2 car garage.
I love the saw.

Bill White
01-22-2010, 1:15 PM
Look at Grizzly saws.
Bill

Chris Tsutsui
01-22-2010, 1:16 PM
Price and value wise, a lot of people here have turned to Grizzly table saws.

I've been shopping for a saw for a long time and if I can't find a Unisaw on craigslist for a good price, then I'm just going to get a Grizzly model that suits my needs.

Cliff Holmes
01-22-2010, 1:17 PM