PDA

View Full Version : Random Orbit Sanders - ?

Mike Rees
01-22-2010, 9:47 AM
Hey Gang,

My next purchase is probably going to be a 5" random orbit sander.

It seems for around 100 bucks you can get the DeWalt or Makita w/ variable speed. Step up to around 180 for the Bosch.

For those that are familiar with my posts, I'm a hobbyist with these things so they are not going to be used for hours at a clip every day of the week.

Do you guys have a opinion one way or the other?

Thanks in advance.

Howard Jahnke
01-22-2010, 9:49 AM
Can't beat the Porter Cable's IMO. Obviously Festool is out there, But they cost your first born.

Clint Schlosser
01-22-2010, 10:12 AM
I have been using the Rigid 2601. Its $70 i think and works fine for me. I am not sure what the difference price will buy you. I know the newest porter cable model is lower profile and probably better quality for $130. But I can buy two Rigids for the price of one. Not sure sanding is requires that level of sophistication.

john bateman
01-22-2010, 10:21 AM
Hey Gang,

My next purchase is probably going to be a 5" random orbit sander.

It seems for around 100 bucks you can get the DeWalt or Makita w/ variable speed. Step up to around 180 for the Bosch.

For those that are familiar with my posts, I'm a hobbyist with these things so they are not going to be used for hours at a clip every day of the week.

Do you guys have a opinion one way or the other?

Thanks in advance.

I was in the same position as you when I bought the Makita variable speed. It seemed like a good compromise, and the best bang for the buck.

It certainly does what it's supposed to, but it requires two hands to use, as it seems to wander around a bit while sanding. The dust bag work pretty good, though.

Cary Falk
01-22-2010, 10:48 AM
I have a 6" Makita and love it. I hook it up to a hose and it has very good dust collection.

Michael MacDonald
01-22-2010, 11:06 AM