PDA

View Full Version : Poplar Dye Problem

Doug Hobkirk
01-20-2010, 10:30 PM
I am new to refinishing poplar (zero projects) and dying wood in general (I've dyed about 6 projects total). Today's project, a mirror, went very well until the final side. Two sections wouldn't take the dye (TransTint Brown Mahogany). I tried brute force (flooding the area with a second coat of dye) and made it worse. I had planned to follow the dye with some stain - Minwax dark walnut or Zar Moorish Teak (almost a gel). The final pictures are after a quick grain knockdown using a white mesh pad.

HELP! It's time to see if anyone can make suggestions.

Scott Holmes
01-21-2010, 12:11 AM
How did you remove the old finish?

Sanding is a poor way to remove old finish; unless you are using a floor sander and removing an 1/8" of wood.

I'll guess the problem is poorly removed old finish, or something got on the wood to seal it. Glue maybe?

Doug Hobkirk
01-21-2010, 10:02 AM
The entire front was sanded thoroughly. The old finish was a light blond and I sanded it off using a 6" ROS, 80 and then 180. The inside and outside edges were sanded much more lightly. The only area on the edges that didn't turn out well (which doesn't bother me) is shown in the first photo.

If the problem were insufficient finish removal, I would think

it would have shown up on the edges and
the dye would have beaded up on area that refused to accept dye.

Wrong? I can certainly belt sand the face with 50 grit and then repeat the sanding with the ROS - and I will if that's the judgment of this forum. But it doesn't feel to me like that's the solution - I think I will have the same problem after the new sanding. Doesn't Poplar refuse to take stain evenly sometimes?

Scott Holmes
01-21-2010, 8:13 PM
Yes poplar is a dificult wood to stain and not much better to dye.