PDA

View Full Version : tips on picking cherry boards

Christopher Kanda
01-20-2010, 7:07 PM
I've never used cherry before and would like some tips on buys some boards for a future project. I was told that sometimes cherry boards will age differently and so to be careful when picking them out. Any hints?

Chris Ricker
01-20-2010, 7:41 PM
If you have never used cherry before, you're going to love it.
it machines well and is relatively stable, plus it is beautiful as well.

I usually try to buy cherry from local sources so I know where and how it was cared for.

If possible, try to get all of the lumber for your project from the same lot of lumber or even better, from the same log.

Cherry can deviate in color and grain pattern from log to log but as long as the grain is similar, (if you get the lumber from different logs) the color should eventually even out but it may take a while.

The "rules" for buying cherry are the same as any other wood, watch for checks, splits knots and price accordingly.

Cherry is one of my favorite woods to work with its beauty is IMHO unmatched

Don't forget to save some cutoffs for the grill, a juicy steak or chicken grilled over cherry coals is a real treat:D

Andy McCormick
01-20-2010, 8:41 PM
Its a lot easier to buy cherry that has been at least hit skipped planed and has been sitting for a while. You can then see the difference is color easier until you get accustomed to looking at it in the rough. Andy

Stephen Edwards
01-20-2010, 9:13 PM
+ 1 for buying boards, cherry or any other lumber, in sequence as they were sawn from the log, if possible.

Of course, to do that you generally need a relationship with a good sawyer who cares about such things. Thankfully, I've recently found such a sawyer :D

Otherwise, Andy's advice to get lumber that has "at least hit skipped planed and has been sitting for a while" is good advice, too, in my experience.

Lee Schierer
01-21-2010, 10:03 AM