PDA

View Full Version : To Rob Cosman 5-day seminar alumni

Tom Henderson2
01-19-2010, 1:07 AM
I'm contemplating going to one of Rob Cosman's 5-day "Training the hand" seminars this Summer up in Calgary. I know some of you have taken that same class, and I'd like to ask you a few questions.

First, what was your hand-tool skill level when you took the course? I'm a bit of a newb, and wonder if that is a good thing (no bad habits) or a bad thing (can't keep up with the class).

Second, did you find that when you got home you could effectively make things using the skills you learned? 5 days isn't much time to cover sharpening, plane use, through, half-blind and houndstooth dovetails, blind and through mortises & tenon joints, etc. so I'm wondering how much you were able to do on your own when you got home.

Next, where did you stay while in Calgary, and how did you like it? Did you need a car, or was it within walking distance of the class?

Lastly, if you flew in by airline, how did you pack and transport your tools?

Thanks in advance.

-Tom H

gary Zimmel
01-19-2010, 9:19 AM
Tom

The first course I took with Rob was three summers ago in Calgary.
Before going there my knowledge of hand tools was limited, very limited.

The shop time we got was extreme. We would start at 6:30-7:00 and go to at least 9:00 at night. One night we were there until 10:30.

When I got home I had all the skills to do a very respectable hand cut dovetail.
From there they really haven't got much better, but they have got much quicker.
Rob is an excellent instructor and no one was left behind.

I can't comment on getting tools to the course by airline as I drove down and stayed at my brothers place.
My woodworking was taken to another level with the knowledge I came away with from Robs course
For me well worth the money..

Jim Barrett
01-19-2010, 10:00 AM
Tom,