PDA

View Full Version : New to woodworking, where do I start??

Duane Bledsoe
01-19-2010, 12:26 AM
Hello all.

I am fairly new to woodworking as a general rule. I have made a few things for around the house such as a bench for my wife and several other things but did not finish beyond basic painting only, no stains or sealers. But I want to take it to the next level now. I'd like to begin building and selling different products (benches, shelves, basic furniture such as tables) and would like some advice on some good general reading to learn as much as I can about finishing, cutting, things to watch for as I cut or finish, any tips or tricks to the trade, anything that's considered "inside knowledge" in the trade maybe. The kind of things you learn after years in the business basically, to shorten the learning curve some.

I am not brand new to woodworking tools though. I was in home improvements for 5 years as my main occupation so I know how to use general wood cutting tools well, such as table and mitre saws, circular saws and drills and the like. Woodworking to create a finely finished product though is pretty different from that.

Any info you could throw my way I'd greatly appreciate. Just some basic knowledge, the kinds of things that are considered "must do" on every project that my home improvement skills might not have allowed me to have already learned. Anything at all, I'm thankful to get. If you have any suggested reading, books I can buy, magazines I can subscribe to, anything like that at all I am all for it. I just don't know where to look or what to look for is all.

Victor Robinson
01-19-2010, 2:26 AM
I'm newer than yourself to woodworking in that I previously had no experience working with the stationary woodworking tools (TS, bandsaw, jointer, planer).