PDA

View Full Version : Jumpin in the deep end.....

Bob Rath
01-18-2010, 8:57 PM
I've been getting closer and closer to the purchase of my first laser. I've been learning Corel X4 and working with a friend's Epilog EXT (30watt) for the last 6 months or so and its about time to go it alone. I'm somewhat familiar with the Epilog and have had in depth discussions with a ULS owner, but am not sure which way to go. I read the fairly extensive post in the Sawmill Creek thread comparing Epilog to ULS and it seems to me that its pretty much of a toss up with each having a couple of unique features. After using the 30 watt Epilog of my friend, I'm thinking I'd like a bit more power, but don't need the large bed of the EXT (maybe a Helix 45watt?). I'm a woodworker who plans on using the laser for a variety of engraving/marquetry applications but I recognize that to defray this significant investment, I may try to pick up some "side jobs" and since I don't know where that may lead, I want a machine with some versatility.
Anyone with either a ULS or Epilog, I'd like to hear your first hand accounts, horror stories and guidance before I pull the trigger (which I hope to do in the next month). Thanx

James Jaragosky
01-18-2010, 9:23 PM
I do not own either machine. I do on occasion operate a Epilog when a local sign shop needs a hand.
Almost weekly, you will find a post From a Epilog owner asking for help with some issue or another, and the first suggestion is always; did you clean your encoder strip? Why this weak link in an otherwise fine machine has not been replaced is beyond me.
USL owners do have problems as well, However recently I see more posts from Epilog owners.
Both companies seem to have outstanding customer support.
Jim J.

Dave Garcia
01-18-2010, 9:36 PM
Robert,