PDA

View Full Version : MacBook won't play DVD

Jim Barrett
01-17-2010, 11:21 AM
I have a MacBook about 1 yr old and it has been wonderful! I have a DVD, Mastering DT's and it will not play....it plays fine on my home DVD player, and my PC's...just won't play on my MacBook. I had my friend try it on her MacBook as well...no go. I am stumped.
I can play all kinds of other DVD's on my MacBook without any problems...just not this particular one. I made a copy of it on my PC and tried the copy....No good.
Thanks,
Jim

Brian Kent
01-17-2010, 11:40 AM
Does it play on the PC?

Jim Barrett
01-17-2010, 11:51 AM
Yes it plays on everything I tried except for my MacBook along with my friends MacBook.

JIm

Dave Johnson29
01-17-2010, 12:08 PM
I have a MacBook about 1 yr old and it has been wonderful!

Sounds like it might be a DRM issue. One of the "joys" of departing from the mainstream PC fields.

Eric Franklin
01-17-2010, 3:17 PM
Was the original DVD pressed? If it wasn't pressed, I would suspect a problem with your DVD drive not recognizing burnt media and I would take it in to get it checked out. You shouldn't have a problem reading a standard DVD and your copy makes me point to a defective DVD player.

Jim Barrett
01-17-2010, 3:31 PM
Not sure what you mean by "pressed". So far I have tried this DVD on 3 macbooks...none of them can play this DVD...weird.

Jim

Brian Kent
01-17-2010, 5:12 PM
Give this a try -- go to videolan.org, download VLC, and try to play the DVD using that app instead of apple's own DVD Player.

It could be the DVD was made by someone who didn't know the proper steps to formalize it as a "true" DVD, and it's more a case of "random video file on DVD media"

Eric Franklin
01-17-2010, 7:44 PM
Not sure what you mean by "pressed". So far I have tried this DVD on 3 macbooks...none of them can play this DVD...weird.

Jim

VD Mass Replication