PDA

View Full Version : Need built-in advice. (Sad attempt at picture)

Matt Allan
10-18-2004, 4:14 AM
I will most likely confuse anyone who reads this, and confuse you further by the pure awful picture I tried to make to help better explain it. As if I needed to say this, I am not good at graphics and its nearly 4am :)

Basically my parents have some built in shelving right now that isn't very pretty on the end of a wall in their living room. Just 3/4 shelves that have been painted the color of the room. They would like some new wood ones, since it is on the end of the wall I was thinking about opening up the end and using round shelves. Right now its just a 3/4 board running down the side to give support for the current setup.

My question is basically, what's the best way to support the open end of the built in with the rounded shelves. I can dado the back and the right side but it would leave the left side totally unsupported which I don't think would be very good. Bracing wouldn't look very good since its open. Looking for the best looking option I guess. The only thing I can come up with is a thin post running from shelf to shelf to the ground to support the whole thing

The shelves would be just a bit under 4 feet long and 12 inches deep

here is my picture to help better show the area.. I am sorry it is so bad

I will try to explain by each color.. Again.. SORRY!:)

Looking straight at the wall from the picture. The blue is the right side of the wall, the yellow is the built in shelving as it is now that would run along the blue just sunken for the built-in shelves. The red would be the new rounded left corner shelves. The gray is the wall 90 degrees to the blue/built in that runs down the hallway. So the read shelves would be open from the right.

I really appreciate anyone who has tried to make sense of this mess, and even more that can help me come up with any ideas. =)

George M. Perzel
10-18-2004, 8:25 AM
Hi Matt;