PDA

View Full Version : DMT Sharpening

jeff phillips
01-15-2010, 11:23 AM
I'm pretty new to this whole hand tool thing, and while I really enjoy it, I've been struggling with sharpening.

On the recomendation of my local woodcraft store, I purchased DMT sharpening stones in grits running through X-course through X-fine. The problem is, that after using them for 3 months, I don't think the X-fine actually goes fine enough.

Not really wanting to change courses at this point and go with water stones, what options are there for a "dry" system that will be the next step after my current X-fine plate?

I've been doing a lot of reading, and it looks like spyderco has a ultra fine ceramic stone that appears to get good reviews. They seem to be much more commonly used for straight razors though, not chisels and plane irons.

Can anyone please help point me in the right direction here?

Thanks.

Tom Winship
01-15-2010, 11:38 AM
I attended a recent dovetail course at Homestead Heritage in Elm Mott, Tx. Part of the course was sharpening. The instructor (Frank Strazza) used DMT's course, then extra fine. He then used an 8000 grit waterstone. He said you could use oilstones, etc. Then he went to leather strop with the "green stuff" on it. One of the assistants there told me he went straight from the extra fine diamond to the strop. There was some discussion about how many times to strop the edge, but I didn't hear an exact number.
Hope this helps. Sure you will get better answers.
Tom

Ron Hock
01-15-2010, 12:04 PM
I agree with Tom about the jump to an 8000-grit stone. But before you add the waterstone to your kit, you may want to look at DMT's 8000-grit diamond plate (http://www.dmtsharp.com/products/diasharp.htm). I have no problem with waterstones, but if you're happy with diamond plates you may want to look into it.