PDA

View Full Version : Book Cutting

Al Bodie
01-14-2010, 9:10 PM
I am new to laser hobby have a VersaLaser 2.0 with air assist and cutting table. The title of this thread is misleading, but what I want to do is make a novelty item by cutting the image of a gun inside the pages of a book so that a pistol could be stored in it. I have done some sample cuts with some success, but would like suggestion on how to do this so the cut is neat and not show signs of burning..I am not looking to accomplish this for any criminal intention, just as a demonstration item. Any ideas or suggestions would be appreciated. I have been a lurker for a while and real enjoy reading this site..thanks

Dan Hintz
01-14-2010, 9:19 PM
You won't be able to do more than a few sheets at a time without charring. For projects like this, a die cutter is the ideal solution.

Al Bodie
01-14-2010, 9:50 PM
Do you think wetting the pages before cutting would reduce charring?

Bill Cunningham
01-14-2010, 10:54 PM
Wetting the pages would reduce charring, but it would also reduce the number of pages you could cut.. The wetter the material, the more energy it absorbs. I would make a small clamping frame that would hold book pages open, and cut ten or so at a time, flip them back under the frame then cut the next ten etc.. etc. etc..

Roy Nicholson
01-15-2010, 4:19 AM
I'd think that only doing a few pages at a time would give uneven edges and a stepped effect. As was said previously Dye Cutting would be much better for this.

Regards

Roy N.

Dan Hintz
01-15-2010, 7:23 AM
Do you think wetting the pages before cutting would reduce charring?
Yes, but have you ever seen a book after it has been soaked with liquid and then dries? You'd have to keep the book clamped down for days or put it in the oven for a few hours to dry it out (also while clamped).

David Fairfield
01-15-2010, 9:06 AM
Why would charring matter? Its not like you're going to flip through the book reading the pages after they have been cut.