PDA

View Full Version : Worth the wait?

Bob Warfield
01-12-2010, 11:39 PM
I'm new to woodworking as well as this forum. I'm in the market for a few sharpening tools and was wondering if I should wate for the woodworking show near me in early February or go ahead and get them now. Are there any deals at these shows?
Thank You,
Bob Warfield

Brian Kent
01-13-2010, 12:10 AM
I don't see significant deals, but I do like the opportunity to see things in person and maybe see some demonstrated.

David Gendron
01-13-2010, 1:18 AM
What kind of sharpewning tools are you after? And if the rep of that specific brand is at the show or not would probably make a difference in your decision to buy now or wait!

Jim Koepke
01-13-2010, 1:31 AM
Bob,

Welcome to the Creek.

Often at shows, you can save on shipping and there might be "show discounts" offered.

I am not sure who is sponsoring the show in your area, I do know some have demonstrations of products offered.

Lie-Nielsen lists sharpening and plane tune up demonstrations at their shows.

Depending on the kind of sharpening equipment that is garnering your interest, it might be good to see it in action at a show if it is going to be there.

My major piece of sharpening equipment was chosen based on a magazine review of about five units. It has done very well for me. Others like different systems. Everyone has different needs and that is why there is so many different things vying for our attention.

Now, after all of that, what kind of equipment are you considering?

jim

Bob Warfield
01-13-2010, 8:46 PM