PDA

View Full Version : Some Windsor chairs

Bob Glenn
01-12-2010, 10:40 AM
I've built about ten Windsor chairs in the last 7 or so years. I'm self taught, mostly from Dunbar's book. The first chair took me over eight months to complete due to the learning process and acquiring the necessary tools. I'm currently working on a settee and a writing arm Windsor.

I just fell in love with look and feel of the Windsor chairs. The engineering of the chair design is amazing, and they are quite strong despite their fragile look.

Jimmy Williams
01-12-2010, 11:22 AM
I'm glad you posted these. I saw the one in your bookcase post and was going to make a comment there but didn't want to steal the bookcases thunder.

Don't get me wrong, I like the bookcase, but I love that chair. Definitely something I aspire to build one day. Great work on these.

D-Alan Grogg
01-12-2010, 12:06 PM
Nice work! I agree with your comments. I've built one so far, but I'd like to build more.

David Gendron
01-12-2010, 12:50 PM
i also build one in a 5 day class i took a few year back and always wnated to make more... Your's look great, realy well made!

Sean Nagle
01-12-2010, 12:59 PM
Excellent work Bob. You've shown us three styles and it sounds like you're working on other variations. I love Windsor chairs. In my opinion, there is no furniture design more elegant than the Windsor chair.

Jim Rimmer
01-12-2010, 1:34 PM
I like the finish on the dark chairs. Is the distressed look something you did as part of the finish or is it really from use? How did you get the reddish color under the dark final finish?

Sean Hughto
01-12-2010, 1:51 PM
I aspire to make some as well as you have. I've taken some baby steps - learning the lathe; made Dunbar's windsor stool; got some tools. Next, I'm going to make a shave horse and make a stick Windsor. Then, no doubt it will be time to take on steam bending! Yikes!!

Great work.

John Keeton
01-12-2010, 2:44 PM