PDA

View Full Version : necessary hand tools...

Jason Conwell
01-10-2010, 10:33 PM
I am new to woodworking and only have some carving chisels. I was wondering everyones opinion on different tools that I will need for basic woodworking projects. Please give me any advice on mistakes you made buying tools when you first started woodworking. I live in a small apartment so large power tools are out of the question but I would appreciate anyones advice on basic tool purchases. Thanks. (Quality brands? What tools you enjoy using and have had success with? etc..Thanks again)

harry strasil
01-10-2010, 10:38 PM
Rip Saw
Crosscut saw
Back saw
Dovetail saw
set of chisels 1/4 thru 1 inch
Smoothe plane
Jack plane
Block plane low angle
Router plane
Marking knife
Square
Marking gauge
Mallet
PRACTICE

harry strasil
01-10-2010, 10:43 PM
And some sort of sturdy bench with a vise to work on.

David Gendron
01-10-2010, 10:52 PM
Jr. list is good, I would had some kind of sharpening system! As for the brands, if you go new, I realy like Gramercy saws and rasp. I also like Blue Spruce for chisels(I have some LN but if it was to do it again...) For planes, there is only two Brand IMO LN or Veritas/LV, as for metal plane anyway. You could also go the woodie route and then there is Philly plane out of the UK and Clarck and Williams in the US. The Munjing Fang are an other option for woodies that are realy affordable. Marking gouge I would go with the Tite-Mark from Glen Drake tools. You can also go the used or vintage tool route and then the options are limited only by your budget and/or the time you want to spend tuning up tools!
Good luck

David Gendron
01-10-2010, 10:54 PM
Jr., have a bench that is realy compact, I think he call's it coffen maker bench, it would be a great bench for a small working area.

Tri Hoang
01-10-2010, 11:09 PM