PDA

View Full Version : How to turn a tapered cylinder

Prashun Patel
01-08-2010, 3:30 PM
I apologize in advance for a lot of dumb questions. I'm brand new to turning.

I am trying to turn a tapered cylinder. Nothing fancy: 19" long tapering from about 2" to 1 1/4". What's the best way to get it straight?

I'll make a relief cut at the top and bottom down to the appropriate dimensions, and then I'll connect the dots, so to speak. But my test piece came out far from straight. Attempts to correct the bulges result in gouging too easily.

I'm thinking there's gotta be an easier way....

Dick Strauss
01-08-2010, 3:53 PM
Shawn
A straight surface 19" long is hard to turn. I'd suggest you put in a few more reference points along the way (maybe two more at about 6" and 12" with a 1/4" diameter increase at each point). I'd also suggest you use a 12" toolrest as your guide. Angle the rest to match your cylinder shape and keep the turning tools exposed the same amount as you go along the rest.

I usually like to leave my reference points maybe an 1/8-1/4" larger than final thickness to allow for smoothing as needed.

Richard Coers
01-08-2010, 4:01 PM
I agree with more reference points. I turned several canes that had really long tapers, (and thin) and they were driving my nuts. When I got close, I grabbed my little Porter-Cable belt sander and angled it along the taper. Ran the lathe at about 200 rpm and it worked great. I used to sand with a foot long sanding block with 80 grit to do the final sizing, but power is always better.

Thom Sturgill
01-08-2010, 4:04 PM
Many many years ago I when I took metal shop in high school, I turned a tapered shaft on a ball-peen hammer. We did that by offsetting the tailstock. Since I have never seen a wood lathe with this capability, I would go +1 for Dick's suggestions.

Bernie Weishapl
01-08-2010, 5:28 PM
I do agree and use Dick's method of turning long tapered spindles. Works well having more reference points. Easier to get straight.