PDA

View Full Version : Care of Tools

Peter Gavin
10-15-2004, 10:31 AM
Hello. I'm a newbie on this site but I've been lurking enough to know I like what I see here. I'm presently the custodian of someone else's tools (which they inherited but since they live in a Chicago condo I graciously offered to store for them:) ) and am enjoying relearning some of the skills I developed in my father's workshop. More and more I've been grabbing the hand tools instead of turning on the power but last night I had a major dilemma. What can I do to make sure I'm not hurting the value of the tools I am only caretaker of. Specifically, I was about to take some steel wool and start scrubbing some rust off of an old hand saw when (thanks to reading the posts here) i decided I had better check what it was first. Almost unreadable under the rust it said "Disston" and there is a "95" in a logo plus some other text. Would it hurt the value of the saw if I scrubbed those markings off? Also there are some planes: 18" long with a corrugated bottem that say's "Stanley Tools" on the back handle and "Bailey" on the front bottom plate. Another plane that says "Miller Falls" on the blade locking mechanism that is 14" long. Another plane that says "Bailey No4" on the front of the bottom plate andis 6 1/2" long. What are your recommendations for caring for these tools as I realy would like to be able to use them.

Thanks

Peter Gavin

Ken Fitzgerald
10-15-2004, 10:49 AM
Peter...Welcome to the 'Creek. I'm sure someone from the neander side will have the answer to your questions! Again...Welcome!

Tyler Howell
10-15-2004, 10:51 AM
Welcome Peter,

Now if we work this right we will both come out AOK! Just tell your friend they disapeared and that will be the end of it.