PDA

View Full Version : Handplane Essentials by Christopher Schwarz

Gil Knowles
01-06-2010, 8:25 PM
Hi
I just received this book yesterday (from LV).
I am just getting into handtools and thought this would be informative.
I have only read a couple of chapters so far, it is very well written and appears to be quite comprehensive.
My only complaint would be that there are no colour photos.

http://forum.canadianwoodworking.com/images/misc/progress.gif

Chris S Anderson
01-06-2010, 8:48 PM
I have 'the handplane book' by hack. It's on the bookshelf in my living room, right by my fireplace. I always find it interesting when somone takes it off the shelf not knowing what it is and get really interested in it. My friends girlfriend started reading a few pages and then wanted to see what a plane could do. I planed the side of some curly maple with my ln #7 and she was engrossed.

Needless to say, in today's world, people move way too fast to learn about the simple techniques and artistry of woodworking. I, too, was such a victim.

Matt Stiegler
01-06-2010, 8:51 PM
I got it several weeks ago. My initial impression was that I liked it. Having read it a couple more times over the holidays, I have to say I love it. Probably not as much as I love his workbench book, but still really outstanding. I feel like it has 90% of what I need as a novice handplane user, clearly and concisely and without an overwhelming amount of too-advanced info or fluff. I only wish I'd gotten it sooner.

The format of the book is a little odd, to my thinking. It's largely (entirely?) a collection of shorter blog entries organized into sections, rather than one cohesive book. That took me some time for me to warm up to, but the upside is it makes it quite easy to find something you read earlier without having to page through the whole book.