PDA

View Full Version : A little help on sanding please

bob frost
01-06-2010, 3:18 PM
I have not done any sanding for about 30 years but I wanted to start some refinishing projects , so I got a new Bosch Random Orbit ( 1590 EVSK) hook and loop sander for Christmas.

The issue I am seeing after starting my first project today was dust quickly accumulated on the sanding disk. I was using the internal filter and not an external vacuum.
The question I have is, is this normal or is there a defect in the new sander?

Sorry, to ask what is such a simple question but I am new to woodworking.

Dave Gaul
01-06-2010, 3:32 PM
Hello Bob! By "internal filter" I assume you mean the dust bag or canister that comes with the sander? If so, they are pretty much useless IMHO! I couldn't even tell you where mine is! You will get better results hooking up a shop vac, just make sure you have either a HEPA filter on your shop vac or a good collection bag inside the vac. The paper will probably still get a little clogged, but shouldn't impead your sanding efforts if you use a shop vac...

Gary Chester
01-06-2010, 3:35 PM
You mentioned that you were new so,

Are the holes in the sanding disk lined up with the holes on the sander?

bob frost
01-06-2010, 3:56 PM
Yes, they are lined up.

Rob Cunningham
01-07-2010, 12:29 PM
Are you sanding bare wood or trying to sand down a finish, and what kind of disks are you using?

Prashun Patel
01-07-2010, 12:32 PM
What grit, what brand of paper, what type of wood?

I have the Bosch 5" I think it's a different model#, but the cannister actually works fairly well. Regardless, it's usually the AIR that fills up with dust - not the disc.

Glen Butler
01-07-2010, 1:31 PM
You mentioned that you are refinishing a project. Have you stripped the finish or are you trying to sand through it? Finishes will gum up sand paper very quickly. Even after you strip it you could have residue that causes the paper to gum up.

bob frost
01-07-2010, 3:36 PM