PDA

View Full Version : Wood choice for painted raised panel cabinet doors

Daniel Dadourian
01-06-2010, 7:52 AM
Planning on making cabinets for a finished basement. They will be spray lacquered white (WB acrylic EM 6500). The faces will have raised panel doors. I am looking for suggestions regarding wood selection for the face frames and raised panels. I recently completed a similar project using hard maple but found that there was too much tear out with my planer (A3 31 with new knives).

Jeff Hallam
01-06-2010, 8:11 AM
I'm not an expert at this, but I believe that Poplar machines well and is fairly economical. Also takes a painted finish well.

Fred Preston
01-06-2010, 8:12 AM
poplar or MDF. both machine well. real wood or not wood. your choice. MDF does not move much but doesnt like moisture at all.

Lee Schierer
01-06-2010, 8:40 AM
Poplar takes paint well. The first coat will turn out rough, but a light sanding and a second coat will yield a velvet smooth finish.

For added strength consider using lap joints for the frames instead of cope and stick type joints. The paint will hide the joint.

bruce buren
01-06-2010, 8:54 AM
poplar, but i've used mdf as well both need a light sanding after first coat

Philip Rodriquez
01-06-2010, 9:58 AM
Use MDF. It is cheap, very easy to machine, and it can be glued in place... adding strength to the door. Poplar would be my second choice.

Rob Cunningham
01-06-2010, 1:17 PM
I've always used Poplar for painted projects. I prime with with 2 coats of BIN primer first.

Peter Aeschliman
01-06-2010, 5:35 PM
I'd go with MDF panels and Poplar rails/stiles.

If it's a kitchen, I'd use all poplar because the like somebody already said, MDF doesn't do well when it gets wet. Paint should probably protect it, but I wouldn't take that chance.

Daniel Dadourian
01-06-2010, 8:56 PM