PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice- How to Ship Furniture

Stan Suther
01-05-2010, 5:58 PM
I'm researching the ins and outs of making and selling furniture I've made- mostly small tables, desks, and chests. Although I think there are several local stores that will sell my pieces, the profit margin on these is likely to be pretty low. I'd like to find out what it takes to ship such items if I marketed them on the internet.

I think you folks have pretty much been there and done that on any questions I have, so I'm guessing you can provide info on best practices for shipping to customers? Any tutorials? I tried several searches but couldn't come up with anything here.

Chris Padilla
01-05-2010, 6:29 PM
Well, I have no direct experience packaging and shipping furniture, but we did just buy a few nice items from Costco (nightstands, smaller dresser) that for the price, are shockingly well-made.

I can only describe how impressive the packaging was and how easy it was to get the item out of the box.

To remove it, all I had to do was slit around the bottom of the box where a dotted line wrapped around it that said "cut here". I sliced it...lifted the box off...piece of cake.

Inside, the bottom of the piece was well protect from the intrusion of the razor blade by heavy folded cardboard (no way my knife would reach the piece). Beyond that, all steps were taken to mitigate movement of any movable items like doors and draws using cardboard, foam, styrofoam, etc. All corners were protected by heavy folded cardboard pieces. The entire piece was wrapped in foam sheet.

Since you can easily return items to Costco, you may wish to purchase a piece and check it out! hahahaha

What kinds of items do you build? Are there any local builders who do such things that you could talk to?

Greg Wittler
01-05-2010, 6:40 PM