PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on hinges

Robbie Wigginton
01-05-2010, 3:31 PM
Hello! I've recently built a jewerly box of sorts out of walnut and figured maple. The stock used is 1/4" in thickness. I'm ready to complete it and add some hardware but I'm not sure what kind of hinges to use on this thin of a stock. This is my first attempt and using hinges on a piece so I'm not real familiar with all of the tricks of the trade :). Any tips would be greatly appreciated!

Pics:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v716/rkw_82/IMG_7696.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v716/rkw_82/IMG_7697.jpg

Robbie Wigginton
01-06-2010, 6:23 PM
Anyone have ideas?

Dave Lash
01-06-2010, 6:42 PM
The thin stock will give you some problems fastening hinges, you will have to predrill for screws to keep from spliting the 1/4 inch stock. Rockler has a good selection of hinges for small boxes, see link below.

http://www.rockler.com/CategoryView.cfm?Cat_ID=124

Robbie Wigginton
01-06-2010, 8:24 PM
Rockler does have some nice stuff, thanks for the link! Would cutting out a mortise and placing the hinge work any better than attaching them to the back of the box?

Van Huskey
01-06-2010, 9:00 PM
Not an entirely serious answer but get an Incra hingecrafter make some really cool wood hinges and glue them on....

I love the look of them particularly on boxes

Horton Brasses
01-07-2010, 1:23 PM
You might be best off surface mounting the hinges on the back of the box. I couldn't look at the links so I can't see what the design is; but surface mounting on the back will eliminate the need to worry about splitting the thinner wood. We make some very nice box hinges in brass and nickel if you are interested. Are the box tops 1/4" as well?

Glen Blanchard
01-07-2010, 2:04 PM