PDA

View Full Version : Table Saw

Bob Haskett
01-03-2010, 9:29 PM
I recently asked whether the Craftsman 21833 was a good buy. I seemed to get mixed opinions. I did readas well as some good reviews on LJ. It got a favorable review from an owner. It has a riving knife (I would think this is a big plus for a beginner). I have been shopping for a table saw for 8 months. Nothing seems to be popping up on CL, or for sale in the paper. So, I am looking at buying new. I have $700 to spend and not a dime more. So, that being said what would you buy, if you had $700 to spend. I understand that a G1023SL would be awesome and they are on sale, but I am just not getting the blessing to buy anything over 650-700. So, with that extremely strict budget, what would you buy?

David Prince
01-03-2010, 9:47 PM
I don't have a problem with Craftsman. I own several Craftsman tools, but don't have any attraction to their tablesaws. I had good luck with a couple of Delta Contractor saws in the past, but don't really like their new models. Personally, I would get the Grizzly. On sale for $644 total. I have a Grizzly 0690 and am very happy with it.

http://www.grizzly.com/outlet/10-Table-Saw-2-HP-Single-Phase-220V-w-Cast-Wings/G0444Z

Bob Haskett
01-03-2010, 9:52 PM
Only thing bad there is I do not have 220v available.

Jim O'Dell
01-03-2010, 10:02 PM
Bob, the saw David linked to is their contractor saw that is 2hp and runs on 110 or 220 volt. The 690 he has is 220 only.
That being said, the Craftsman saws are reportedly made by Orion, who makes the Steel City saws, and it is possible the one you are looking at is a hybrid saw that would be closer to a cabinet saw than a contractor saw. Many people have reported that they are happy with the new Craftsman units. Jim.

Chris Harry
01-03-2010, 10:02 PM
I know you mentioned you couldnt find a Ridgid 4511.....did you call each HD near you to ask? Or did you actually go to each store and look?