PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly G0698 - Anyone going to buy it and review??

John Keeton
01-01-2010, 12:34 PM
There was a recent thread (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=128488) posted by Dave Warkentin asking about this lathe, with a few responders. Now that the catalogues are out, has anyone decided to buy this lathe? I would love the hear a review on it.

Seems like it has a lot of nice features, and plenty of power. Since I am very new to turning, I am unfamiliar with some of the history behind certain brands. I have gleaned from prior posts and threads that Grizzly is not known for their lathes. That said, I have several Grizzly machines and have been well pleased.

Apparently this lathe is a copy of a Laguna, and while I am not familiar with that lathe, it seems to have a checkered past, as well.

Just looks like a lot of lathe for the money, and one in which I may have some interest. But, I don't want to be the first!!:D;)

Anyone going to pull the trigger on this one?

Brian Effinger
01-01-2010, 12:43 PM
Anyone going to pull the trigger on this one?

Sounds like a job for John Keeton! :D

Sid Matheny
01-01-2010, 12:45 PM
A friend up in Canada has the Busy Bee copy of the Laguna that looks just like the Grizzly.

http://busybeetools.ca/cgi-bin/picture10?NTITEM=CT128

He is very happy with it.

Sid

John Keeton
01-01-2010, 1:00 PM
Sid, that is a very similar lathe. The only differences I see are the motor and the spindle size. Apparently, the Grizz is a 3 phase motor with a single phase frequency drive. The Busy Bee looks to be a single phase motor. I am not knowledgeable enough to know what difference, if any, that makes.

Edit: I just checked the manual on the G0698 and the motor is listed as single phase, though further down it states "single phase frequency drive provides three phase variable speed control without three phase power" I am not aware of what all that means.

Good to hear your friend likes his, though.