PDA

View Full Version : Worm Screw / Chuck question - newbie

Jon Prouty
12-29-2009, 11:03 PM
So I bought a chuck from Grizzly for Christmas (yay). The screw drive (worm screw/ whatever) is VERY long. For smaller bowls, can I put a spacer (1/2" MDF) in between the chuck jaws and the bowl blank? Been searching for similar threads and coming up empty. Thanks for the assistance!

Jon

Bernie Weishapl
12-29-2009, 11:06 PM
I use spacers Jon all the time but when I do I make sure my tailstock is in place.

Jon Prouty
12-30-2009, 9:12 AM
Thanks!

Jon

Dick Sowa
12-30-2009, 9:43 AM
Be REALLY cautious of MDF as a backing or mounting material for your blanks. It is really too soft to provide a very secure mounting, and can fail dramatically if you get a catch. I would recommend using some scrap wood instead...poplar is a good choice, but any solid wood would be a better choice than MDF.

Denis Puland
12-30-2009, 9:49 AM
Hi
When as a newbie I got my first chuck and I tried using the worm Screw thingy and did not like it and switched to mounting between centers with a Spur drive, rough turn the shape and make adjustments either at the tail stock or headstock end of the blank to achieve the most desirable orientation of the blank and make a spigot for the chuck to hold. Since then that has been the only way that I start almost all my turning projects.

I find this method so very handy for making adjustments to the blank orientation when roughing and mounting.

My preferences only as there are many ways to skin a cat so to speak.

Denis

Joshua Dinerstein
12-30-2009, 1:53 PM
I do this frequently. I use a few pieces of "Radiata Pine" from the local Borg.

Yes it is Pine but it isn't super soft like the cheap 2x4 material at said store. Instead it is a nice straight grained and works really well.