PDA

View Full Version : Spray booth question

Paul Cozzolino
12-29-2009, 10:38 PM
I am new to finishing so I appreciate any help. I currently have my workshop in my garage and am thinking of putting a portable spray booth that I could set up and take down when I need it. If my intent is to only use a water based stain in my HVLP could I use a tent that is big enough to put pieces in. To establish a cross flow I will use 2 fans for exhaust and intake through the windows of the tent. These fans will have a furnance filter on them to clean the air. In addition I am thinking about lining the inside of the tent sides with a sheet of plastic to be able to keep the tent some what clean. What are your thoughts on potential drawbacks of this design.

Scott Holmes
12-29-2009, 11:51 PM
Dependiing on the size of the peices you are spraying; a tent may be over kill...

The fans will create too much breeze. Water-borne finishes are pretty easy to spray make sure you protect yourself.

I use plastic/paper disposable painters drop-cloths hung from the ceiling with a piece of PVC pipe in the bottom to hold them down.

Paul Cozzolino
12-30-2009, 5:46 PM
What do you do to move fumes in and out of the area. I assume that even if it is a water stain it will still displace oxygen in the immediate area.

Tony Bilello
12-30-2009, 6:00 PM
"If my intent is to only use a water based stain in my HVLP............"

You are not going to spray the finish?

Paul Cozzolino
12-30-2009, 10:40 PM
Yes my intent was to spray everything.

Tony Bilello
12-31-2009, 12:27 AM
Since you dont have a complete profile, I have no idea where you live so we will have to deal with ambient weather conditions as a separate issue.