PDA

View Full Version : moisture meter or ?

Mike Newell
12-29-2009, 8:35 PM
Just wondering how everyone judges when wet wood is ready to turn. I am new to turning and have been purchasing bowl blanks at woodworking stores and online but they are wet and wax coated usually.

I just had a bowl crack due to high moisture when I turned it.

How do you tell if a blank is ready to turn and do you use a meter?

Thanks for any advise,

Mike

Dan Forman
12-30-2009, 1:28 AM
It's ready to turn as soon as it can be attached to the lathe. :)

The thing you really want to know is how to keep it from cracking between roughing out, and final turning once it's dry.

People have different strategies for this, I've had good luck just putting the green roughout in a paper grocery bag, sealing it, and setting it aside to dry for 3 to 4 weeks. Then I take it out of the bag, and let it sit for another couple of months before truing it up and turneing to final shape. Most of the cracking that takes place is due to the rapid water loss of the first few weeks. The paper bag slows this rapid stage down. Remainder of the loss happens slowly enough that it doesn't cause cracking. Usually. I learned this method for Earnie Conover's book on bowl turning. Haven't had a failure yet, but I've only done about 10 bowls since adopting the method.

Some woods like cherry or other fruit woods are notorious for cracking, and these might be better with the end grain coated with anchor seal prior to being bagged. That might extend the drying time to something more like 6 months though.

Some folks use denatured alcohol (DNA) soaks to cut down on the drying time, I'll let them explain that process. I had more cracking with that method, so I don't do it anymore.

If you haven't seen it yet, I highly recommend Bill Grumbine's DVD Turned Bowls Made Easy. He covers all the steps from harvesting wood to finishing the bowl.

Dan

Mike Minto
12-30-2009, 9:48 AM