PDA

View Full Version : confused about my backsaw

Jasper Homminga
10-12-2004, 5:57 AM
Hello

First let me introduce myself: I have been reading al your posts for a while and must say they are thoroughly enjoyable. Woodworking has been a hobby for about 4 years now, but I am rather new to the Neanderthal style of working wood. At least 50% of what I did involved some sort of power tool. Because the noise and dust were really starting to annoy me though (and I did not think I could solve the noise part) I at least wanted to figure out how to get the dust out. After thinking and reading about it for a while it dawned on me that I was working on the wrong end of the problem: I should not have made the dust in the first place. So I made a sled and stepped onto the slippery slope.

On to the saw confusion:
I have an old backsaw with 6PPI teeth (filed cross-cut). The combination of backsaw and 6PPI does not seem to make sense. I thought backsaws were made for fine work while 6PPI would seem more for coarse work.
What would a 6PPI backsaw be used for?

Jasper

Richard Gillespie
10-12-2004, 8:04 AM
Jasper let me be the first to welcome you to the creek. There is a wide range of experience here and many friendly people who are glad to share advice with you. I completely understand your desire to avoid dust. I developed allergies to wood dust while working as a cabinet/furniture maker.

As to your back saw, I've never seen one with 6 tpi before. Most of them are in the range of 10 to 14 tpi. To venture a guess, it is for cross cutting soft woods and not intended to give a smooth cut. For some reason, that tpi configuration makes me think of a stair saw used to cut stopped dadoes.

Marc Hills
10-12-2004, 8:26 AM
I'm with Richard, I think you are correct to be confused by the 6 tpi. How long is this backsaw? Do you have a way of measuring the tooth set? I'm guessing it would have significant set. Maybe this was set up to cut through green wood.