PDA

View Full Version : Advice for finishing an Ash Rocking Chair

Ryan Eldridge
12-26-2009, 9:55 PM
Hi there all,

I have been working on a rocking chair, adapting the plans from the wood magazine arts and crafts book that I got at the library. It is my first attempt at a chair so I thought I would do it in ash due to cost.

Well the chair is coming out really well except now I have a really light wood that wants to go into a room that has mostly cherry furniture.

I am thinking of using a dye to get the color darker, then covering it with some bulls eye shellac sealer, and then some hand rubbed poly.

Any suggestions on this schedule and also on the dye? I have not done a dye before, also should I do a pore filler before the dye or after?

Thanks for any advice.

Phil Phelps
12-27-2009, 9:20 AM
Cherry and ash are like night and day. You'll need to practice on some of your scraps of ash to find a color you'll like. Some ash has wild grain and that grain will be a darker color when you stain. Remember you're chair is functional and will need several coats of clear finish. I don't think the wipe on products will serve that purpose well.

Ryan Eldridge
12-27-2009, 10:15 AM
Phil,

Thanks for the reply what would you reccomend instead of a wipe on product?

Also, I do not want to make the ash look like cherry just darken it up some so it is blonde against a bunch of darker colored woods in the room.

Jeff Nolan
12-27-2009, 11:38 AM
I really like ash, it's a pretty wood that is a lot less common than oak. It does have some finishing challenges that you have to think about before you go to work on it.