PDA

View Full Version : Table saw motor capacitor fried

Dean Karavite
12-19-2009, 6:23 PM
Hi Everyone,

Preparing for a nice 10 day vacation with most of the time in the shop, but today my Delta contractor saw motor starting smoking and stinking up the place (good news is I finished cutting my tenons). One of the capacitors is a mass of goo. I read a bit online and it seems I can get a replacement at Graingers (there is one near enough to my house).

I am not an expert on motors. Is this the smart path to take? Seems worth a shot. Also, I have not been over burdening the saw - I was cutting poplar and plywood today with sharp blades - what might cause this to happen?

I hate to even bring this up, but when I bought the saw, used, I replaced the power cords and switch. I was beyond anal in making sure everything was wired correctly, used 14 gauge wire, use a 20 amp 110 outlet with nothing else on the circuit and have run the saw over two months since. Again, I am dead certain I didn't, but if I by chance mixed live and neutral, would this cause a capacitor to burn out?

P.S. Any advice on the best thing to use to clean up the burned out capacitor oil?

scott spencer
12-19-2009, 6:39 PM
It's not unusual the caps to just go sometimes....doesn't have to be something you did.

Grainger is one possibility, but any motor shop, or even an electrical surplus house might have something suitable. Be sure the new cap will physically fit inside the enclosure, be sure the electrical rating is at least as high, and get the capacitance value close...doesn't have to be exact. Should be < $10.

Dean Karavite
12-19-2009, 6:46 PM
Thanks Scott. I am seeing that a new motor will be $200 easy, so I might as well try it out.

Mike Henderson
12-19-2009, 7:01 PM