PDA

View Full Version : You woke me up!

Doug Carpenter
12-19-2009, 8:26 AM
Well,

It has been a crappy five or six years. I had the misfortune of tearing my Rotator cuff in 03. Since then I tore it again and have had 3 surgeries. My shoulder hurts all the time and gives me headaches alot to boot.

I have been a remodeling contractor for 20 years and it has really taken a toll on me. I dread doing projects because It tkes me weeks to get over working for even a day. I have always had employees but in todays economic climate I no longer employ anyone. Not to mention the feeling that the government is going to make being an employer ever more difficult. I am slowly winding down and considering closing my business.

Of course after 20 years of selfemployment and given my injury I would not make a good employee. Honestly the thought sickens me. I am starting a new business as a stockmaker. I will make custom shotgun stocks and do some gunfitting. I have spent 12 years in the clay target arena and I am fortunate to blend two of my loves together in order to make a living.

Untill recently I had lost my enthusiam for woodworking. My brother who is a Creeker had mentiond this forum. I have to say that I love this place. It has reminded me of my love of all things construction. I really enjoy helping people when I can and asking questions when I need to.

I am greatful that the Creek is here and I check in each day.

Doug Carpenter
12-19-2009, 8:28 AM
forgot to subscribe so I'll just reply.

Ted Shrader
12-19-2009, 8:55 AM
Welcome Doug -

The Creek is a good place to hang out and exchange ideas. Maybe some of them will help keep the shoulder pain down.

Regards,
Ted

Ken Fitzgerald
12-19-2009, 10:13 AM
Welcome to the Creek Doug! Wade right in...the water's fine......From beginner to pro.....we are all here willing to exchange information.....and maybe in the process find a few new friends.

Bruce Koch
12-19-2009, 10:43 AM