PDA

View Full Version : Drill press basics

Victor Robinson
12-18-2009, 5:23 PM
Would you guys be so kind as to explain to me the basic features that separate drill presses? I'm trying to get a drill press in the shop - want to sneak it in the budget but also don't want something quickly outgrown.

I know I want a benchtop, as I don't have much floorspace.

I was choosing between something really cheap, like the 12" Delta 300L which can be had for $200 online, vs. something a little pricier, like the 14" Grizzly G7943, $320.

I've also been scouring CL, but benchtops aren't for sale much around here.

Will I tend to notice a huge difference between these two machines? For reference, I'm a relatively new woodworker with an interest in mostly furniture - the most common usage of my drill press will probably be for hogging out material with forstners for mortises (or using a mortising attachment).

Gary Breckenridge
12-18-2009, 5:44 PM
I think its a question of what you need. I have the Delta and I like it. The Grizzly is bigger and heavier and more expensive. What do you make and how will you be using the machine? Your project ideas sound like you need the heavier and stronger machine. If the Delta is too small you will be unhappy with it. If the Grizzly is a bit too big it won't make much difference.:cool:

Victor Robinson
12-18-2009, 5:49 PM
I think its a question of what you need. I have the Delta and I like it. The Grizzly is bigger and heavier and more expensive. What do you make and how will you be using the machine? If the Delta is too small you will be unhappy with it. If the Grizzly is a bit too big it won't make much difference.:cool:

So what makes it either too small or too big?

My understanding is that the stroke matters, because it lets you know how deep you can drill without adjusting the table, right? The Delta has a 2-3/8" stroke, vs. 3-1/4" for the Grizzly. Is the real world stroke going to be considerably shorter when you account for the bit?