PDA

View Full Version : Counter Height Dining Table

Bart Standefer
12-17-2009, 10:49 AM
I am a newbie, so be easy......

A counter height dining table will be my first furniture project. I haven't chose the wood yet, but leaning towards red oak. The dimensions I sketched out are 42"w x50"l x36"h. I don't have a planar or a jointer, though looking into a jointer (I don't know how serious I am going to get with woodworking, being a metal fabricator, and running out of shop space). I live with my fiance, so just building a table for us and when we have guest. You think that is a good size?

I wanted to make it out of 8/4, 2"x4", with 4"x4" legs. I can't buy the wood locally, I have to order it or drive 5 hrs to a saw mill in central Texas. If I order it comes in different widths (4"-10"), so I would need a jointer to get a straight side then run it on my table saw to cut it down to 4". Other option I have is to go to Lowes/HD and do a glue together with 1"x4", to get 2"x4", but I don't know what I would do about the legs. Any thoughts?

Also, I don't see a lot of tables with the border cut in 45* angles, usually but-ends. I think the look of 45* cut border would look better. Is there a reason most table are not built that way?

Jamie Buxton
12-17-2009, 11:55 AM
Okay, there's a basic issue you don't seem to know. Wood expands and contracts across the grain as its water content changes. The water content changes in a big way as the wood dries out after it is harvested. The water content also changes on an annual cycle, in response to the humidity of the air.

Lumber sold for making furniture is generally dried quite well. Lumber sold for building houses is not dried as thoroughly. The 2x4s you mention are construction lumber, and will shrink some as they dry. If your design accomodates the shrinkage, you could make a rustic table with them, but I wouldn't build a sophisticated table with them.