PDA

View Full Version : Requesting a Crash Course in Finishing

Eric Jacobson
12-12-2009, 4:30 PM
I'm a newbie turner, about to give some bowls as gifts for Christmas. These bowls could be used to store earrings or serve snacks like peanuts. I'm not sure what people will do with them.

I don't want to repeat the mistake I make this summer, where I gave a bowl to a friend and after she washed it, the wax came off in blotches and looked terrible. That bowl was finished with Mahoney oil wax finish, apparently I did something wrong...maybe you can't get it wet for several months or something?

So what are your recommendations for me? I have 1.5 weeks left and I have the following stuff in my basement to work with:

Pure expeller pressed Walnut Oil (I've already soaked some bowls with this)
Johnson's Paste Wax
Wipe-on Poly
Deft Wipe-on Danish oil
Wipe-on Poly
Mahoney Utility Finish
Mahoney Oil Wax
The Beall Buffing System

Steve Schlumpf
12-12-2009, 4:48 PM
Eric - for dry items - like earrings or peanuts - I like to use wipe-on poly. It is a film finish and can be glossy or flat, depending on what you want. You can wipe the bowl clean with a damp paper towel but I do not suggest immersing it in water. If you are going to use a wax at all - I suggest going with Renaissance wax as it doesn't show fingerprints or watermarks like carnuba.

Bernie Weishapl
12-12-2009, 6:47 PM