PDA

View Full Version : Radial Arm Saw

Brandon Weiss
12-11-2009, 3:05 PM
How many of you have a Radial Arm Saw? I'm new to woodworking so my tool collection is small at this point, one tool which is not in my collection be the Radial Arm Saw. I am happy with what I've got so far, and running out of room in the garage, though. I keep a watchful eye on Craigslist for the AZ area, in fact, most of my woodworking tools have been purchased there. I see a lot of ads for older model Craftsman Radial Arm Saws. I've been thinking about getting one if I find the right deal on Craigslist. I'm wondering if this is a tool I will truly use though. My TS3650 serves me quite well for everything so far, so the Radial Arm Saw would definitely be a luxury item, money that could be used on clamps or other useful items as well. Are the Radial Arm Saws really worth the money? Are the older craftsman models any good? It will be a while before I purchase anything else tool wise, but I like to get a jump start on my research and answer any lingering questions I have well in advance. Thanks for the input.

Matt Day
12-11-2009, 3:07 PM
You'll find a lot of information on here about RASs. Give the search function a try and you'll find more than you need to know!

FWIW, I have one of those older C'man RAS and it's okay for rough crosscutting but that's about it. Even a little nudge of the table and it's out of whack too much for FWWing.

Chuck Saunders
12-11-2009, 3:28 PM
I find that it is better to but a tool when I need it and not when I see it. I don't follow my own rule all of the time, but I don't have any tools that I don't use. If you are going to buy a radial arm (and I like them) lean towards the older DeWalt cast iron arm versions.

Jim Rimmer
12-11-2009, 4:42 PM