PDA

View Full Version : Turnings for the Twins

Dick Parr
10-06-2004, 10:18 PM
I finished up some rattles for the twins today, but after looking at them for awhile, I think they are too big. As small as those kids are, it will be a year before they can lift them. :eek: So tomorrow it's back into the shop to see about making some smaller ones. This is my first project with captive rings. Each one came out better then one before it. I was going to get one of those Sorby captive ring tools (since they are on sale :D ) but now I don't think I need one. But then again, it is for a good cause. :p ;)

Once I get them to the right size, I will look for a place that does laser work to inscribe their names on them. Might as well do it right.

Thanks for looking.

John Miliunas
10-06-2004, 10:27 PM
Why is so many of you guys doing stuff for the "first time" always seem to put out stuff that I *might* be able to do after a half a dozen tries? :confused: Nice job on the rattles, Dick! :) Maybe sometime in this century, I'll be able to get back and do a little turning! :o Anyhow, they look great and be sure to post more pics once you make the mini models! :cool:

Jim Ketron
10-06-2004, 10:45 PM
Nice Job Dick!
You know I'll have to make some for my Twins that are in the oven since you posted that;) how are they?
Jim

Jerry Olexa
10-06-2004, 11:05 PM
Good job and for a special cause.. The twins will someday treasure them because you made them.

John M. Cioffi
10-07-2004, 7:05 AM
Dick,

Great job. I echo John M's comments. Can you tell me what tool & technique you used to turn the rings. I'm about to visit WoodCraft for the captive ring tool, but may be able to save the funds,for something else.
Thanks. BTW Dick, do you have the 2-part book from Phil Irons?
John

Michael Stafford
10-07-2004, 7:16 AM