PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw dovetail Jig

Dave Shaffer
10-06-2004, 9:01 PM
After the big welcome everyone gave me today I wanted to share a different way of doing dovetails. If you havent tried dovetails yet this might just get you started. It is also helpful for those that havent bought one of the many expensive dovetail jigs on the market. Enjoy;)

http://inetpublish.com/jigs/dovetails.html

Jim Becker
10-06-2004, 9:07 PM
Very nice and useful technique, Dave! I may try that sometime on a smaller project...the armoire I cut a week or so ago would have been difficult to manuver on the bandsaw. :D (And I wanted to learn how to do it the "traditional" way.

John Miliunas
10-06-2004, 11:06 PM
I've heard of folks doing DT's on the BS, but never could quite figure out how they were doing it. This explains a lot! Muchos gracias. :cool:

Greg Tatum
10-07-2004, 12:44 AM
Thanks for a great tutorial...as a beginner, I really appreciate input from all y'all more accomplished WWers.

Greg

Scott Parks
10-07-2004, 12:50 AM
I cut the pins on my table saw with a dado blade. I use a finger joint jig with my miter guage turned to 15 degrees. Without a sacrificial board behind your peice, you'll get tearout. Then trace the pins on your other peice and cut the tails with bandsaw. Just another option.....

Keith Christopher
10-07-2004, 1:34 AM
I spent so so much time cutting dovetails by hand. My grandfather would never let you touch a power tool until you worked "a certain" amount of time doing it by hand. So I have a BUNCH of hours cutting doves, boxes, and mortises. So now that I think I've earned the new tools I bought. A dedicated mortiser and doving jig. I do have to say because I make alot of smaller doves, that I LOVE this technique. so much faster I bet then aligning a doving jig. I love the ingenuity that WW's used to make their life simpler. Excellent job !

Mike Weaver
10-07-2004, 7:53 AM
Thanks for the great tip!