PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial: Shop Made Cauls

Mike Henderson
12-04-2009, 9:39 PM
I recently did a tutorial (http://www.mikes-woodwork.com/Cauls.htm)on making cauls. I'm sure many of you already know how to make cauls but new woodworkers often do not.

For those of you experienced, I'd appreciate comments and suggestions - especially on better ways to make cauls.

Mike

Jim Rimmer
12-04-2009, 10:30 PM
Mike:

Thanks for the tutorial. I'm not a newbie exactly but not real advanced either. That's some good info I can use.

Dan Forman
12-04-2009, 11:25 PM
Mike---Thanks for this, I need to make some. Don't you run into trouble though with planing against the grain on one half of the caul, when starting in the middle?

Dan

Kent A Bathurst
12-04-2009, 11:28 PM
Mike - looks good - straightforward instructions. I got so aggravated years ago at scrambling around trying to find stuff to use for cauls that I bit the bullet and made a set - I think I have like 20 of them, all exactly identical.

Mine have a lot in common with yours, but there are some differences:
1. I used 10/4 hard maple, ending at about 2-1/4" square. Yeah - maybe overkill, but I wanted do do it once. That was 10 yrs ago.
2. I wrapped two lines around the centere of the caul, 2" apart (1" offset from the center line). On the face to be toward the glue joint, I put an X in the middle of that box. These lines tell me where the center of the caul is, looking from any direction, and the X tells me which side goes against the glue-up.
3. Mine are 32" long. I taped a stacked pair of dimes to one end, then set the dime end well past the running jointer head, and plunged the caul down, and moved if forward. Repeated until the jointer cut came to my line. Then, pulled those dimes, taped 4 dimes to the cut end, and repeated for the second end. No better than a handplane, just faster, and both bevels are identical. Clear packing tape, of course.